International Society of Biomechanics
Gold sponsor

Dr. Andersson received his M.D. from the University of Göteborg, Sweden in 1967; and obtained a Ph.D. in medical science at the University of Göteborg in 1974. After a fellowship at the London Hospital, he joined the faculty at the University of Göteborg for 10 years. In 1985, he moved to the United States and the Rush University Medical Center as professor of orthopedic surgery. His clinical area of interest is spine (neck and back), while his research interests are disc degeneration, epidemiology and occupational biomechanics. Dr. Andersson has received many awards and honors including the Muybridge Medal, the ISSLS Stryker Spine Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine. He has received the Kappa Delta Award from the AAOS/ORS, the Freedom of Movement Award from the Arthritis Foundation and is a recipient of the Trustee Medal from Rush University Medical Center. Dr. Gunnar B. J. Andersson is the The Ronald L. DeWald, M.D. Professor and Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery at Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, Illinois.