International Society of Biomechanics
Silver sponsor


The ISB congresses online database is growing at the moment. ISB congresses from 2001 to-date were published in electronic format; prior to that they were all in a book.

We are scanning those ISB congress abstract books right now and will add these to this site as they are compiled.

The links below direct you to proceedings, tutorials, photos etc from the ISB Congress.




Proceedings and Content


ISB 2021 Congress XXVIII Stockholm, Sweden (virtual)

Congress Proceedings

ISB2021 Congress Web Site

Program and abstract book

Muybridge Award: Scott Delp
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Susan S. Magulies
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Podium): Arnault Caillet
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Poster): Linus Awuniji
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Barbara Postolka
Promising Scientist Award: Lizeth Sloot
Emerging Scientist Award: Tom Buurke

ISB World Athletics Award: Michael Asmussen

Jacquelin Perry Emerging Female Scientist Award: Taylor Dick

ISB 2019 Congress XXVII Calgary, Canada

Congress Proceedings

ISB2019 Congress Web Site

Muybridge Award: Ralph Müller
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Hugh Herr
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Podium): Antoine Falisse 
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Poster): Baaba Otoo
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Stephan Bodkin
Promising Scientist Award: Eng Kuan Moo
Emerging Scientist Award: Adrian Lai 
ISB 2017 Congress XXVI Brisbane, Australia

ISB2017 Congress Web Site


Muybridge Award: Walter Herzog
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Jaap van Dieen
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Podium): Jack Martin
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Poster): Erik Lamers 
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Kenton Kaufman
Promising Scientist Award: Karl Zelik
Emerging Scientist Award: Alessio Gallina
ISB 2015 Congress XXV Glasgow, Scotland ISB2015 Congress Web Site Muybridge Award: Kai Nan An
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Aurelio Cappozzo
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Podium): Kelly A. Larkin-Kaiser
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Poster): Robert Eberle
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Andrew Tan
Promising Scientist Award: Ross Miller
Emerging Scientist Award: Shota Haigo
ISB 2013 Congress XXIV Natal, Brazil

Congress Proceedings

ISB2013 Congress Web Site

Muybridge Award: Benno Nigg
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Miguel Nicolelis
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Podium): Eng Kuan Moo
David Winter Young Investigator Award (Poster): Brandon Hisey
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Sorin Siegler
Promising Scientist Award: Hiroaki Hobara
Emerging Scientist Award: Geoffrey Power
ISB 2011 Congress XXIII Brussels, Belgium

Congress Proceedings


Tutorials and Lectures


Muybridge Award: Roger Enoka
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Jan Pieter Clarys
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Cameron Brown
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Mathieu Davis
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Frances Sheehan
Promising Scientist Award: Antoine Nordez
Emerging Scientist Award: Taian Vieira
ISB 2009 Congress XXII Cape Town, South Africa

Congress Proceedings


Tutorials and Lectures


Muybridge Award: Mimi Koehl
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Patrick Prendergast
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Sandra Jasinoski
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Renate List
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Karen Mickle
Promising Scientist Award: Jae Kun Shim
ISB 2007 Congress XXI Taipei, Taiwan

Congress Proceedings

Tutorials and Lectures

Muybridge Award: Peter Huijing
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Kai-Nan An
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Veerle Segers
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Philippe Malcolm
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Diana Glaser
Promising Scientist Award: Paul Ivancic
ISB 2005 Congress XX Cleveland, USA Congress Proceedings Muybridge Award: Rik Huiskes
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Bruce Latimer
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Emma A. C. Johnson
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Veronica J. Santos
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Magnus Kjartan Gislason
Promising Scientist Award: Kermit Davis
ISB 2003 Congress XIX Dunedin, New Zealand Congress Proceedings Muybridge Award: Tetsuo Fukunaga
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Steven Vogel
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Jeremy LaMothe
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Keith Gordon
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Behnam Heidari
Promising Scientist Award: Constantinos N. Maganaris
ISB 2001 Congress XVIII Zurich, Switzerland Congress Proceedings Muybridge Award: David A.Winter
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: R.C. Nelson
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Steven Boyd
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Paul Hodges
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Bert Van Rietbergen
Promising Scientist Award: Stefan Judex
ISB 1999 Congress XVII Calgary, Canada NA Muybridge Award: Paavo Komi
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Andrew Huxley
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Frances Sheehan
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Daniel Lambertz
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Michael Torry
Promising Scientist Award: Ralph Muller
ISB 1997 Congress XVI Tokyo, Japan NA Muybridge Award: John Paul
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: V. Reggie Edgerton
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Kenneth Meije
Young Investigator Award (Poster): M. K. Rand
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Bob Norman
Promising Scientist Award: Amy Courtney
ISB 1995 Congress XV Jyvaskyla, Finland NA Muybridge Award: Savio L-Y. Woo
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: David A. Winter
Clinical Biomechanics Award: M. Adams
ISB 1993 Congress XIV Paris, France NA Muybridge Award: Malcolm H. Pope
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Carlo J. De Luca
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Caroline Nicol
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Felix Eckstein
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Gerald Cole
ISB 1991 Congress XIII Perth, Australia NA Muybridge Award: R. McNeill Alexander
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: James G. Hay
Young Investigator Award (Podium): Oliver Mills
Young Investigator Award (Poster): Cheryl Johnson
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Peter J. McNair
ISB 1989 Congress XII Los Angeles, USA NA Muybridge Award: Gunnar Andersson
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Benno M. Nigg
Clinical Biomechanics Award: Michael Morlock
ISB 1987 Congress XI Amsterdam, Netherlands NA Muybridge Award: Peter R. Cavanagh
Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Savio L-Y. Woo
ISB 1985 Congress X Umea, Sweden NA Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Don B. Chaffin
ISB 1983 Congress IX Waterloo, Canada NA

Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Uros Stanic

Young Investigator Award: M.R. (Fred) Yeadon

ISB 1981 Congress VIII Nagoya, Japan NA Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Phillip D. Gollnick
ISB 1979 Congress VII Warsaw, Poland NA Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: Marion Weiss
ISB 1977 Congress VI Copenhagen, Denmark NA Wartenweiler Memorial Lecture: G. A. Cavagna
ISB 1975 Congress V Jyvaskyla, Finland NA NA
ISB 1973 Congress IV Penn State Univ, USA NA NA
ISB 1971 Congress III Rome, Italy NA NA
ISB 1969 Congress II Eindhoven, Netherlands NA NA
ISB 1967 Congress I Zurich, Switzerland NA NA

Donations & Support

Donations and support for these projects were received from the organizations listed below. ISB greatly appreciates this generous support.