International Society of Biomechanics
Gold sponsor

David Winter Young Investigator Awards

job-150x200Sponsored by
Journal of Biomechanics
and Organizers of the ISB Congress

thumb DavidWinter

These awards are presented in honor of Professor David Winter and his pioneering contribution to the science and application of biomechanics. There are two DWYI awards, one for the best oral presentation (sponsored by the Journal of Biomechanics, Elsevier Science Ltd) and one for the best poster presentation (Sponsored by the organizers of the previous ISB Congress). The award recipients are offered a certificate, a monetary award of $750 USD and free ISB membership for 2 years.

Requirements: Candidates must be the first author of an abstract submitted to the ISB congress for presentation. They should not have been awarded a PhD by the time of the abstract submission and must have made the major contribution to the research presented in the abstract. If selected for the final round, the candidate must personally present the paper (whether oral or poster) at the ISB-congress. The abstracts for this competition are solicited with the call for papers of the ISB Congress. Please note: ISB has a policy that an abstract submitted for an ISB conference award is non-identical to an abstract submitted elsewhere.


Past winners of the ISB Young Investigator Awards:
YearOral presentationPoster Presentation
2023 Quinn Yetman (Canada) Kavya Katugam-Dechene (USA)
2021 Arnault Caillet (UK)  Linus Awuniji (Finland)
2019 Antoine Falisse (Belgium) Baaba Otoo (Canada)
2017 Jack Martin (USA) Erik Lamers (USA)
2015 Kelly A. Larkin-Kaiser (Canada) Robert Eberle (Austria)
2013 Eng Kuan Moo (Canada) Brandon Hisey (Canada)
2011 Cameron Brown (UK) Mathieu Davis (USA)
2009 Sandra Jasinoski (South Africa) Renate List (Switzerland)
2007  Veerle Segers (Belgium) Philippe Malcolm (Belgium)
2005 Emma A. C. Johnson (UK) Veronica J. Santos (USA)
2003 Jeremy LaMothe (Canada) Keith Gordon (USA)
2001 Steven Boyd (Canada) Paul Hodges (Australia)
1999 Frances Sheehan Daniel Lambertz
1997 Kenneth Meijer (The Netherlands) M. K. Rand .(USA)
1995 Mellick J Chehade (Australia) NA
1993 Caroline Nicol Felix Eckstein
1991 Arthur D. Kuo (USA) Timothy J. Koh (USA)
1989 Oliver Mills Cheryl Johnson
1987 NA NA
1985 NA NA
1983 M.R. (Fred) Yeadon (United Kingdom) NA